Learning and Development

What is
"The Early Years Foundation Stage"

Throughout your child’s Browns Lane Learning Journal, you may see references to areas of the “Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)”. The EYFS details 7 Areas of Learning and Development which are used to help structure appropriate support and activities for children from birth to the end of their reception year at school.


Prime Areas

Communication and Language (C&L),  

Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED),



Physical Development (PD)


Specific Areas

Literacy (L),

Mathematics (M),

Understanding the World (UtW)


Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)